Jesus: Who Does He Think He Is?

About the middle of the feast Jesus went up into the temple and began teaching. The Jews therefore marveled, saying, “How is it that this man has learning, when he has never studied?” So Jesus answered them, “My teaching is not mine, but his who sent me. If anyone’s will is to do God‘s will, he will know whether the teaching is from God or whether I am speaking on my own authority. The one who speaks on his own authority seeks his own glory; but the one who seeks the glory of him who sent him is true, and in him there is no falsehood.
  (John 7:14-18 ESV)

 

The authority of a true teacher does not come from the teacher but from God.  Jesus even applied this all important principle to Himself.  He said that His teaching was from our Father.  And then he turned the tables on the questioners. “If anyone’s will is to do God’s will, he will know whether the teaching is from God,” He said.  Ouch! In other words, true discernment can only come from some one who is truly seeking God’s will.  Double ouch.

I think we worry too much about who is teaching/preaching, how they are teaching, the gender of the teacher, the length of the sermon and relative minutia such as these and we forget to listen for the Word of God in what is being taught.  Seriously.  Whose fault is it, then if we don’t “feel fed” afterward?

Here’s an example of what I’m talking about.  Imagine some one is dolling out stew.  Everyone is lining up to get some and when you (or I) get right up to the pot the server says, “Hold out your bowl.”  Oops.  Did you forget to bring one?  How do you expect to eat if you don’t bring a bowl?

Did that seem silly?  But that’s what we do right?  We show up to church or Sunday School and expect to be spoon fed or something.  But how can we possibly know if the food that is offered is any good when we show up so ill prepared for the banquet?  Is that Jesus’ fault?  Not at all!  And the same goes for any other teacher or preacher.  You can’t judge their message by how the teacher looks.  You need to be prepared by praying and being in the Word everyday so that it may light your way.  The Truth must be in you if it is to resonate with the Truth without.

God Bless you,

Christopher

6 thoughts on “Jesus: Who Does He Think He Is?

  1. Awesome…respectful, dignified, scripture verse on point and on cue! I am smiling and applauding!
    2 thumbs up !!! Super (natrual) job! Chirstopher. God Bless/ed -WATW

    Like

  2. Yes, That’s the super(natural) part of my reply. God has blessed you and I pray will contiune to bless you with undertanding of His written word. You have my admiration and respect after watching the way you handled yourself yesterday. Being challenged is not fun(not for me, althought some people crave it) Yet you didn’t lose your temper, and you were kind and pateint and yet you refused to allow God’s word to be twisted for the sake of keeping the peace. I learned a lot from watching the debate between you and Anne. I must say you set an astounding example.
    sorry this is so long, I wanted you to know that all that frustration with her and how you chose to address her opinions, maybe it was allowed so that everyone could see how God wants us all to handle these situations. Anyway, good job. The way you stuck up for the scriptures reminded me of Jesus being tempted in the desert.

    Like

    • Again, I thank you. I welcome challenges and discussions such as those. If I am wrong, I do want to know. I answer honestly to the best of my ability. But it’s not like I am just “shooting from the hip” in the posts I post. Just trying to stay brief and to the point.

      Christopher

      Like

  3. Judging others by the way they look or how they talk is what Jesus warned us about. We also need to be careful not to judge those that are commonly considered “sinners”, such as drug addicts, gays, prostitutes, gamblers, etc. We are all on the same boat, even if we think we are already “saved”. Being humble like Jesus is what it takes to truly live the Kingdom of Heaven. In my own personal experience, I have listened to the pastor preach the last time I attended church, but did not feel spiritually fed, not because of who delivered the message, but because he was talking about “God’s finances” and how to solve our nation’s financial crisis. I don’t need this kind of information to help me live the Kingdom. What I need is to break the natural tendencies to focus on the material and look at the things from above. This is why I was discouraged from the last time I attended church. Haven’t returned since then. Disillusioned. Could this still be my fault? Thank you.

    Like

    • I apologize for the delay in answering, Noel, but yours was a serious question that deserves a serious answer. The obvious answer is yes, it is you fault. You chose to not go back. But more than that and more to the point of the article is that this pastor was not being led by God in his message. You, it sounds, showed up, bowl in hand and he offered you a peanut. Really? Why should you go back to that? Perhaps other messages were from God I don’t know. But neither do you because you were so put off that you never went back. You probably weren’t the only one with that reaction.

      I suggest you try another church. One that preaches the Bible. It may take you a few tries, my friend (Which is a sad thing for me to say).

      God Bless,

      Christopher

      Like

What's Your Opinion?

