Striking Jesus

The high priest then questioned Jesus about his disciples and his teaching. Jesus answered him, “I have spoken openly to the world. I have always taught in synagogues and in the temple, where all Jews come together. I have said nothing in secret. Why do you  ask me? Ask those who have heard me what I said to them; they know what I said.” When he had said these things, one of the officers standing struck Jesus with his hand, saying, “Is that how you answer the high priest?” Jesus answered him, “If what I said is wrong, bear witness about the wrong; but if what I said is right, why do you strike me?” Annas then sent him bound to by Caiaphas the high priest.
(John 18:19-24 ESV)

 

Jesus has told the world who He is through the Bible and His human witnesses in the Church.  John’s Gospel leaves no room for debate that Jesus is the Word, the Son of Man, the Son of God, God.  Even the soldiers who arrested Him knew what He was saying when the came to arrest Him.  “I am he,” replied Jesus.   And they fell down.

If  He has spoken in error, where?  If He has not, then the whole world needs to bow down to Him and worship Jesus in Spirit and in Truth.  What else needs to be said?  Are we not His witnesses?  The answer is yes we are.  Anyone who claims the name “Christian” is a witness for Christ Jesus.  It’s just that sometimes we are not very good witnesses.  But even in our weakness, God is glorified because we are forgiven and He is merciful and we can begin again….right NOW!

God Bless,

Christopher

What's Your Opinion?

