God’s Faith in You

God has been working on me and those around me quite a bit lately.  I received a proverbial “whack upside my head” last night.  A person I know told me that God expected me to do what He said to do before He would fully bless us as He’s promised.  This from a person who scoffed when I said she is called to prophesy.   That hit me like a ton of bricks.  It’s not so much the message because it was about something I’ve been struggling with for a while as much as the wording.  I knew I needed to do this, I guess I was blinded to the impact it would have.  I had ignorantly compartmentalized things so that they seemed separate, not comprehending fully what it means to give one’s all to Christ.  All means all.  Simple enough.  But often the expectation is that if we give it to God, it’s now His to deal with and we just need to do the Christian stuff  like pray, read our Bible and go to church, be nice…..

In the Book of Exodus there is this quick little episode as Moses and his family are making their way back to Egypt to do the Lord’s work there:

Ziphorah

“Surely you are a bridegroom of blood to me.”

 At a lodging place on the way the LORD met him and sought to put him to death. Then Zipporah took a flint and cut off her son’s foreskin and touched Moses’ feet with it and said, “Surely you are a bridegroom of blood to me!” So he let him alone. It was then that she said, “A bridegroom of blood,” because of the circumcision.
  
(Exodus 4:24-26 ESV)

For some reason or another, Moses had not circumcised his son according to God’s Covenant with Abraham.  Even though the Lord had just made big plans with Moses, that did not excuse him from his part in this deal.  Moses would never have accomplished all that God had in mind except for his wife Zipporah’s wise discernment of the situation and quick action.  Thank the Lord for Godly, discerning wives!  Moses certainly did need a lot of help as he began his ministry didn’t he?  (There’s a lesson in there somewhere.)

Christians (myself especially) need to order themselves therefore, not so that God can use them (I’ve heard people say this but I don’t think that is necessarily true.  God can do and use whatever and whomever he pleases to use.), but so that He will use them.  Moses was the same man when he woke up the next morning, after all, but his part in the covenant had been fulfilled so he was not killed in the night.  In other words, when God tells you (not “if”)  you need to do something and that He is going to bless you and yours, do it and see what God does.

more to come….

God Bless,

Christopher

3 thoughts on “God’s Faith in You

  1. Pingback: The Ark of the Covenant « Psychic Shack

What's Your Opinion?

