Who’s On the Ark?

image

Prayer and careful study are the keys to understanding the Bible

As I read about Noah last night, it occurred to me (not sure why) that there was something fishy about the Bible given genealogy from Adam to Noah. So, I crunched the numbers. Sure enough, Noah’s father Lamech and gradfather Methuselah, must have been on the ark with the rest of Noah’s family. Either that or they were really good at treading water because they both lived well over a hundred years after the flood.

I’m not saying that there’s any great theological significance to this. I just find it interesting.

But then, I wonder why I’ve never heard this before. After all, it only took a few minutes to crunch the numbers and then a few more to double check.

Thoughts?
Comments?

Editor’s note, 1/16/2014

Ummm. Apparently I cannot add correctly, at least not at night. See the comments. Lamech died five years before the flood and Methuselah died the year of the flood.

One of the benefits of blogging is that one may be corrected. I appreciate that.

5 thoughts on “Who’s On the Ark?

  1. thank you, the article and the true happiness rays began to warm hearts, when we share it with sincerity. Greetings from Gede Prama 🙂

    Like

  2. I see Lamech passing 5 years before the flood (he lived 595 years after Noah was born) and Methusaleh (369 when Noah was born) dying the year of the flood…I’ve heard it suggested the flood commenced right after Methusaleh died.

    Like

  3. I don’t see it…Lamech died 595 years after Noah’s birth. Since Noah is 600 when the flood starts, that is 5 years before the flood.

    Further, since Noah was born when Methusaleh was 369, Methusaleh dies the year of the flood. Since he is part of the “righteous” line, I’ve heard it suggested that the flood commenced right after his death.

    Like

    • Ok. You got me. I recrunched the numbers. I now see that you are right. Lamech did indeed die 5 years before the flood and Methuselah died the same year of the flood.

      This proves at least two things:

      1.) I should not do math at night.

      2.) I am right to blog this stuff so I can be corrected.

      Thanks.

      Like

      • and 3.) That it is a good thing for you to post late-night questions that turn up in your reading of Scripture – it makes others go back to the text and check things out. Besides, those genealogies are confusing.

        Like

What's Your Opinion?

