What is Love?

Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. Love bears all tthings, believes all things, hopes all things. Love never ends.

1 Corinthians the13:4-8a, ESV

I was asked not too long ago what I thought love means. To my dismay, I could not answer. I could list numerous excuses for  why I was unable to answer this person, but the truth is that at that moment in time, I truly did not know.

I wanted say that it meant believing in some one and standing by  that person, come what may; lifting that person up so that they may be all that they can be.   I wanted to quote the passage above. But, I just couldn’t do it. Basically, I was worn out and didn’t believe any of it. I didn’t believe it was possible to actually do those things.

But love isn’t those things any way. Those things are the outward appearance of love. It’s like faith. One can act like a believer and still not be saved. In the same way, one can be patient and kind and all the rest and still not be experiencing love. Those are the works of love. And those are how one acts toward someone one loves just as good works naturally proceed from true faith. I guess what I am trying to get at is that  love cannot, after all, be defined.

So, this is what I think. The Bible teaches that God is love. That means that love, real love, can only be found through Him. I read recently, that in order to find one’s true love, one must focus all of one’s thoughts and efforts upon God and as one draws near to God, there, in the midst of His love, one may find the person whom God intends one to be with. Love after all is the very Spirit of God.  And in the list above are attributes of God.

Love is none other than God flowing through and empowering a relationship. So if one wishes to experience what love is, one must look to God because He is the True Source of all love.  Anyway, that is what I intend to do, so hopefully the next time I am asked what love is, I will have an answer.

3 thoughts on “What is Love?

  1. Thank you my brother For the great Lesson and sharing your personal thoughts on what is love. May God bless you abundantly as he provide you with wisdom and knowledge To teach the truth of His holy words.

    Like

  2. AS I WATCH YOU FROM A DISTANCE AND READ THROUGH YOUR BLOG I FIND IT SUCH A SHAME THAT YOU DON’T LIVE YOUR LIFE ACCORDING TO SCRIPTURE AND WHAT YOU BLOG HERE..YOUR KNOWLEDGE OF THE BIBLE IS AMAZING BUT KNOWLEDGE DOES NO GOOD UNLESS IT IS LIVED OUT.

    DENISE

    Like

    • I am glad that you read this. I hoped that you would. No, l do not claim to be perfect. Never will. And you are right, the messages on this blog are directed at myself as much, if not more so, as anyone else. A shame, though? I am a sinner saved only by the grace of God. That’s is the primary message here. We are all sinners, but we may all be saved. As far as living a shameful life since we’ve been apart, I think not. I have even, with God’s help, managed to forgive you and begin to pray for you. I’m not bragging about that. I only say that to demonstrate that God is working in me. And there is nothing shameful in that. Moreover, I can think of nothing in my life, at this time, that is glaringly unScriptural as you claim. But that is just me.

      Like

What's Your Opinion?

