King Solomon

image

I’ve been plodding along through First Kings. I can’t quite explain why, but this book has been a bear to read. I mean, I can barely stay awake sometimes. what’s that all about?

But, anyway, here is what impressed me as I read about King Solomon:

image

King Solomon had it all. He was arguably the greatest king ever. He was wise, intelligent, rich beyond understanding, and loved. Under Solomon’s reign, Israel experienced a long period of peace and unprecedented international respect. Solomon had the best of everything. Like I said, he had it all.

I don’t know for sure, but maybe having everything his heart desired was also Solomon’s downfall. I have no reason to doubt that he meant well. After all, he loved his wives. But, in demonstrating his love for them and trying to please them, Solomon placed his wives’ desires before God’s. They became his idols, as it were, and that lead to grievous sins.

It was deja vous all over again. Solomon, for all his gifts and wisdom, was no better than Adam or King Saul in the end.

I’m not sure how I feel about that. On the one hand, I wish that Solomon could have been a stellar example of the blessings a person may accrue by wisely following God’s will. (But, then, that is not the Gospel of Jesus Christ, is it?)

On the other hand, it’s comforting to know that I am not alone in messing things up. Even Solomon, in his great wisdom and glory, succumbed to the world and placed other people and things before God. Which isn’t to excuse my or his or anyone else’s transgressions. It’s just to say that we are all human and, try as we may, we can never achieve perfection this side of eternity.

image

Once again we can thank God for our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.
By His perfection and grace, we are saved.

2 thoughts on “King Solomon

What's Your Opinion?

