Christmas Time: Hallelujah (Thanks Cloverton and Linus)

That’s a pretty cool version of one of my all time favorite songs; “Hallelujah” by Leonard Cohen. I first heard it while watching Shrek with my sons years ago and fell in love with it. I don’t think I’m the only one.

My life has been drastically altered in the past year and a half so I am in the process of reinventing myself and, well, my life too. Perspective as it is said, is everything so one creates changes in one’s life, one’s perspective is altered along with those changes. I have come to the conclusion that it’s best not to judge the alterations but instead accept them as one’s present reality in Christ and step off from that place.

All that is to say (without going into details), that my perspective on Christmas has been changed too, whether for good or ill, we shall see. Oops that is judgmental, sorry. The fact remains, Christmas simply feels different to me this year. I have never been one who depended on presents to provide my Christmas joy. Which isn’t to say that I don’t enjoy the presents, just that has never been my primary focus. My most treasured memories revolve around family and the love that Christmas brings out in one’s loved ones whether one is a child sitting next to the fire with the family dog, opening presents and drinking hot chocolate or a parent searching the Rocky Mountain forest for the “perfect” Christmas tree with one’s children and spouse. Those are the memories with all their sounds and smells and joy attached that make Christmas special. That’s what I think, anyway.

Which is why I have posted posts such as Below in a Manger and The Nativity of Jesus. Peace on Earth is another pretty good post, if I do say so myself.

Obviously after reading those posts from earlier years, you will see that my perspective has always been a bit off center. I’m okay with that. So the things that I am looking forward to most this year are cooking (and eating!) Christmas dinner with the boys, decorating the tree, and simply enjoying their presence on that wonderful day of peace. Jesus is my brother (He says so) and His Father is my Father (and yours) so God obviously places a lot of emphasis on family, so maybe I am on to something here.

What are your favorite memories and parts of the Christmas Season? Please share. And above all I pray that you and yours have a Merry and Blessed Christmas together in spirit if not in person.

And speaking of Christmas memories: Here’s one of my particular favorites. Maybe it’s one of your’s too.


Hallelujah! Christ is Born.

What's Your Opinion?

